Opinion

Worship crosses cultures

September 18, 2014

This summer, I was able to travel to Guatemala to study Spanish while getting to know the culture from an inside perspective. This was my second trip to Central America, the first being with JBU. Traveling to Guatemala independently this summer was such a fascinating and exciting experience!

The pursuit of happiness: Can it be part of God’s will?

September 18, 2014

It is a common goal for most people to achieve some sort of happiness. In fact, it is an idea that most Americans see as their ultimate dream. We are often told to do more of what brings us pleasure.

Ebola spreads: More aid needed in West Africa

September 18, 2014

With the worst Ebola outbreak in history having now infected almost 5,000 people and killed nearly half, immediate relief efforts are desperately needed.

Living for Christ in Color

September 18, 2014

“I’m colorblind.”

This is something I often hear from students and faculty when hard discussions of race come up. And, since I teach early American history, the history of slavery and African history here at JBU, the topic of race comes up often.

Views on salvation differ

September 18, 2014

With the advent of the Paradosis Center on the JBU campus, there is now interest and opportunity to compare notes between Evangelicals and Roman Catholics.

Putting People to Faces: Views of the Middle East

September 11, 2014

This summer, I was blessed with the opportunity to travel to Jordan and Israel with Dr. Vila and a group from JBU to participate in the Abila Archaeological Excavation. When I decided to go on the trip, I had no idea what to expect.

Student finds perspective in Europe

September 11, 2014

This summer I spent two weeks in Budapest, Hungary on a graphic design and photography mission trip to serve the Youth With a Mission base of Kiev, Ukraine.

Discovering more than dirt

September 11, 2014

I rarely think ahead. I did not consider my options very much before I made the decision to go on the Jordan study abroad trip this summer, and I hardly thought about it at all before I hopped on the plane.

What are the Op-Eds?

September 11, 2014

Welcome to the Op-Ed section of the Threefold Advocate, a diverse and engaging beacon of free speech.

A response to theThreefold's Next Big Thing review

April 24, 2014

With regards to the Next Big Thing album review recently published in the Threefold Advocate, I believe three major things should have been taken into account when writing these reviews: the size of this school, the weight of the contest, and the means by which the music was produced.

Pages

Powered by Drupal