Opinion

Professor recognizes race, humanity

January 29, 2015

Notice: The following column contains language that may be offensive.

Pro: the great gun control debate

January 29, 2015

This is not my first draft. In fact, I do not really care to disclose how many times I attempted to write a pro-gun opinion piece.

Modern chivalry looks like kindness

January 29, 2015

Let’s get one thing straight— I’m a strong, independent woman who don’t need no man. Ah, I can see hackles raising already. If women are so independent these days, what place do good old-fashioned values have? What’s the place of chivalry?

From passion to action: Penny-pinching for a cause

January 29, 2015

Most college students know how to save money. You buy the generic brands at the grocery store, carpool to save on gas and go as long as possible before doing your laundry.

Student shares: ‘I am gay’

January 29, 2015

Tears streamed down my face one September eve as a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders when I finally realized that God loved me. There is a freedom that comes with that kind of love, which is neither conditional nor capricious. It is the very essence of God.

Defense of free speech: Terror in Paris sparks conversation

January 29, 2015

Last semester, we The Threefold mentioned the importance of free speech, which appeared in an editorial about the anonymous smartphone app Yik Yak. Due to recent discussions and the tragedy that has taken place in Paris, we want to further discuss this issue.

Catholics and evangelicals commanded to love

December 4, 2014

I am a self-identified evangelical who was raised in Catholicism. I am also a confused evangelical who has noticed a subtle, mean-spirited criticism of Catholicism.

Ferguson ignites race discussion: Students should listen with sincerity

December 4, 2014

A few months ago, no one knew or cared about the town of Ferguson, Mo. It was a suburb of St. Louis with just over 20,000 people, but on Aug. 9 it became a place of racial tension, tragedy and violence the next day.

Military kid myths

December 4, 2014

The life of a military kid is commonly put into one major category involving a lot of moving, one parent gone constantly and a life filled with emotional handicaps. Conflicting with widespread opinions, not every military kid experience is the same.

Vote smart: Research candidates first

December 4, 2014

On November 4 of this year, some of us voted. Statistically about 25 percent of college-age young adults actually vote in mid-term elections. It can be pretty difficult to vote as a college student, as we are often far from home.

Pages

Powered by Drupal