Opinion

A response to theThreefold's Next Big Thing review

April 24, 2014

With regards to the Next Big Thing album review recently published in the Threefold Advocate, I believe three major things should have been taken into account when writing these reviews: the size of this school, the weight of the contest, and the means by which the music was produced.

Responding with a different view of sin and grace

April 22, 2014

After reading Wadsack's column in last week's issue, I would like to offer another perspective on the issue. Scripture is the ultimate truth, which is why we have to be faithful to carefully study the text and understand the original intent of the biblical authors.

Goodbye John Brown University: Threefold staff relive the past four years

April 17, 2014

Editor-in-Chief Sidney Van Wyk

1. What is one thing you want people outside the Threefold to know about the paper?

A column is an opinion. An article is not. Don’t get it twisted.

Asexuality misunderstood

April 17, 2014

What is the first thing that pops in your mind when you hear the word “asexual”? For many, it’s how a cell duplicates and creates daughter cells. However, there’s another kind of asexual that you don’t read about in your biology textbook.

Technological harassment: A new way of invading people's privacy

April 10, 2014

Peeping Toms have a new advantage that their predecessors did not have access to: technology.

Acknowledge sin, know God’s grace

April 10, 2014

Christianity is all about sin and grace. About recognizing what horrible, sinful people we are – and about knowing there’s a God who loves us anyway, who forgives our sin and calls us to follow him.

Make plans, be flexible

March 20, 2014

I have never heard God speak to me, at least not in an audible voice. But I do go through times in my life when messages hit me clearly and repeatedly.

Hindu community seeks apology

March 20, 2014

Hindu community, which is quite upset over an article in “The Threefold Advocate”, student newspaper of John Brown University (JBU), calling Hindu gods as “demonic” and Hinduism as “ugly religion”, is still waiting for an apology.

News works: An explanation of Threefold policy

March 20, 2014

I realized this week just how many misconceptions there are about The Threefold Advocate. I would like to take a moment to clear up a few things about what we do, how we do it and how you, the reader, can be involved.

Pages

Powered by Drupal